Analysis

Meta acquires Conductor, an app for running several AI coding agents in parallel, whose team joins Superintelligence Labs as its cloud service shuts down on November 20

Axios reported on November 4 that Meta bought Conductor. The founders join Meta Superintelligence Labs and the cloud service closes on November 20.

By ·

On November 4, 2026, Axios reported that Meta has acquired Conductor, a Mac app for running several AI coding agents in parallel. CEO Charlie Holtz confirmed it on X and on Conductor's blog, according to the media, writing "Conductor is joining Meta". Price and terms were not disclosed. This is neither investment, legal nor purchase advice.

The essentials

What do the media report?

The four outlets listed below relay Axios and Conductor's announcement. Holtz and de Campos join MSL, a division Mark Zuckerberg created this year (Startup Fortune). Holtz says he wants to work with Nat Friedman and Alexandr Wang on the next interface for coding tools (HuggingNews, CellCog). Startup Fortune notes that Meta launched its own coding agent, Muse Code, on August 5, and judges the deal closer to a team hire than a product purchase; that is its view.

Conductor says it has more than 100,000 builders and raised a $22 million Series A in March 2026 from Spark Capital and Matrix Partners (Startup Fortune, CellCog); these figures are its own and unverified. Engineers at Linear, Vercel, Ramp, Notion and Stripe used it (Startup Fortune), and dozens of Meta engineers already did (HuggingNews).

What happens to the product?

Conductor runs several coding agents side by side, each in its own isolated copy of the code, with a cloud version for remote agents. It works with existing subscriptions, such as Codex with ChatGPT and Claude Code with Claude (CellCog); HuggingNews adds Cursor.

Calendar announced by Conductor. Schedule according to Conductor, as relayed by CellCog and Tech Insider. Nov. 4, 2026: Acquisition reported by Axios; no more sign-ups or downloads; existing Pro subscribers keep Pro features for free; Nov. 13: Conductor Cloud becomes read-only; active subscribers are refunded; Nov. 20: Conductor Cloud shuts down; deletion of cloud data begins; Early 2027: Mac app gets no new models or fixes; Holtz expects something new from the team. Dates are those announced by Conductor, as the media relay them. Source: Startup Fortune, CellCog, Tech Insider.

Source: Startup Fortune, CellCog, Tech Insider.

Per Conductor (CellCog, Tech Insider), sign-ups and downloads stopped on November 4 and existing Pro subscribers keep Pro features for free. Cloud workspaces can be moved with a Transfer to local option and data exported from settings (CellCog, citing Conductor), which says it never sold user data or used it for training. Holtz expects something new from the team early next year (Startup Fortune, CellCog); what that means for paying customers and the original team is not specified.

Where do the sources diverge?

What the sources do not report the same way. Price and terms were not disclosed. Founding and launch: Founded in 2024, Y Combinator summer 2024 (Startup Fortune); Mac app launched in July 2025 (CellCog); Team joining Meta: Four engineers behind the tool, without saying how many join Meta (Startup Fortune); Headcount not disclosed (Tech Insider, CellCog); Meta's confirmation: Confirmed to TechCrunch (Tech Insider); No comment when MT Newswires asked (CellCog); Supported agents: Claude Code, Cursor and Codex (HuggingNews); Codex and Claude Code (CellCog). Differences are reported as the sources give them; none is settled here. Source: Startup Fortune, HuggingNews, CellCog, Tech Insider.

Source: Startup Fortune, HuggingNews, CellCog, Tech Insider.

Outlets do not line up on founding and launch dates: 2024 (Y Combinator summer 2024) for Startup Fortune, a Mac app launch in July 2025 for CellCog. Tech Insider says Meta confirmed to TechCrunch without details; CellCog says Meta had not commented when MT Newswires asked. Startup Fortune mentions four engineers behind the tool, while Tech Insider and CellCog say the headcount was not disclosed. We settle none of this.

What is not established?

Price and structure; how many staff join Meta; what MSL will build; any path for Conductor users to the future product; what happens to paying customers beyond the schedule; Meta's statement; Meta's use of Conductor; exact founding and launch dates.

Comparison table

Comparison table
PointWhat the sources sayStatus
AcquisitionReported by Axios on November 4, confirmed by HoltzAnnounced by Conductor
Cloud scheduleRead-only November 13, shutdown November 20Announced by Conductor
Meta's confirmationTo TechCrunch per Tech Insider; no comment to MT Newswires per CellCogReported, sources differ
Founding and launch dates2024 versus July 2025 for the Mac appReported, sources differ
Price, headcount, MSL plansNone publishedNot established

Frequently asked questions

Did Meta confirm the acquisition?

Axios reported it and Holtz confirmed it. For Meta, the sources differ: Tech Insider says it confirmed to TechCrunch without details; CellCog says it had not commented when MT Newswires asked.

How much did Meta pay?

Not disclosed, according to all the outlets.

What happens to Conductor users?

Per Conductor, the cloud is read-only on November 13 and shuts down on November 20; the Mac app gets no new models or fixes from early 2027. Nothing more is specified.

Method and limits

Sources as of November 5, 2026. Figures are the company's, attributed to each outlet. CellCog, which sells its own AI agent products, is used only for Conductor's schedule and statements. We tested nothing and give no advice. Another deal in the same field is in our November 5 roundup on OpenAI and Pierre.

Sources

Spotted an error in this article? Report it · Our corrections policy

Rekha icon: a house drawn in a single stroke

From the same author Self-promotion

An Eulerian path, drawn with your finger

Rekha, the iPhone game by OrigoTech's author: connect every dot in a single stroke without tracing the same link twice, across 500 drawings that are all solvable.

The OrigoTech newsletter

A sourced weekly digest of AI tool news.

Read next