Analysis

Walmart opens its store to AI shopping agents: what the Agent Gateway does and what is still pending

Walmart announced an MCP server for AI agents that search and buy for customers. What it does, the customer controls, and what is still unknown.

By ·

As of October 31, 2026, Walmart says it has launched the Walmart Agent Gateway, an MCP server that lets approved AI agents search and buy on Walmart and Sam's Club (US sites) on behalf of a customer. The Gateway is an early beta, by invitation only. A second tool, Agent Profiles, is due "within the month" after the October 21 announcement. Walmart gives no prices, no countries beyond the United States and no general availability date.

The essentials

What did Walmart announce on October 21, 2026?

According to Walmart's newsroom post of October 21, 2026, the company is making it possible for agents to shop on behalf of customers while keeping customers in control. TechCrunch reports that CEO John Furner spoke about it at the Masters of Scale Summit (TechCrunch).

Two tools are involved. The Walmart Agent Gateway is a server built on the Model Context Protocol (MCP), the open standard that lets an AI agent call outside services. If the term is new to you, see our MCP setup guide. The second tool, Agent Profiles, is covered below. Per the press coverage, the Gateway is open to businesses and developers who request access, while the customer side is open to any Walmart account holder, with no Walmart+ membership required (TechCrunch, Reuters via KSL).

How does an agent buy, and who controls what?

According to Walmart, the customer decides first: approve each purchase, or set a spending limit. The agent then acts through the Gateway, and Walmart processes the order at the same prices a human sees on Walmart.com, with offers and fees shown before purchase.

Four-block chain: the customer chooses approval of each purchase by default or a spending limit, for example $50, $100 or $200; the AI agent is an approved agent with its own profile, Agent Profiles expected in November 2026; the Walmart Agent Gateway is an MCP server in invitation-only beta for Walmart.com and Sam's Club, non-compliant agents are blocked; Walmart applies the same prices as for a human and its usual returns. A note says the agent does not receive card data and cannot change the payment method

Source: Walmart press release (October 21, 2026), ppc.land, verified 2026-10-31.

Walmart also says it can require additional approvals, even under the limit a customer has set. It says an agent gets only the information needed for the task, and that the Gateway helps find a customer's usual items without sharing the whole purchase history. The agent provider's privacy policy covers what the customer entrusts to the agent. Walmart's policy covers the data passed to Walmart.

What do Agent Profiles and spending limits provide?

Walmart says each agent gets a dedicated profile in the customer's account, and purchases made by that agent show up separately. The profile is created automatically the first time the agent uses the Gateway. The customer links it by signing in to their Walmart account, and can delete it at any time. Reuters describes the rollout as "next month"; Walmart gives no exact date.

On limits, the press release gives $50, $100 and $200 as examples. ppc.land notes that it is not specified whether a limit applies per order, per day or per month (ppc.land). We therefore do not say how the limit works in practice.

What happens if the agent makes a mistake?

According to Walmart, its usual returns process applies even if an agent does not act as intended. Walmart also says that "Agents that do not follow these terms will be blocked from Walmart's site." We did not read these terms (see the method section), so we cannot say what they require, or what the rules on liability are.

Who is already connected?

Walmart's release names Muse (Meta), ChatGPT and Gemini "and others" as existing conversational commerce integrations, alongside Sparky, Walmart's own assistant. It does not name any participant in the Gateway beta, as ppc.land and actuia both note (actuia).

Reuters, in the KSL version, presents the three as able to connect through the Gateway (Reuters via KSL). That is stronger than the release's wording. Press reports of the beta page add that the Gateway connects agents through Sparky, a link the release does not state explicitly. We found no figure on Sparky.

Where does the rollout stand?

Only the Gateway beta is announced as started. Agent Profiles are expected, and several items are unpublished.

Three-column status table on October 31, 2026. Announced October 21: Walmart Agent Gateway, invitation-only beta. Expected: Agent Profiles within the month, November 2026, exact date not given, dotted outline. Not published: countries outside the United States, prices, general availability, list of beta participants

Source: Walmart press release, TechCrunch, ppc.land, verified 2026-10-31.

Why is this announcement compared to Amazon's?

TechCrunch frames Walmart's move as a welcome mat, in contrast with Amazon, which the outlet and ppc.land report limits or blocks third-party agents. Amazon's lawsuit against Perplexity is ongoing, with a hearing on a motion to dismiss set for November 20, 2026, according to actuia. We add nothing more.

David Bellinger, an analyst at Mizuho, is quoted by Reuters via KSL as seeing agentic shopping as still experimental, while reading management's backing as a sign it is something real. That is our paraphrase, not a quotation.

Comparison table

Comparison table
ItemWhat Walmart saysStatus on Oct. 31, 2026Source
Walmart Agent GatewayMCP server for approved agents, Walmart and Sam's Club (US)Early beta, by invitation, can be suspendedWalmart, ppc.land
Agent ProfilesOne profile per agent, purchases shown separately, deletableExpected "within the month" (Nov. 2026), no exact dateWalmart, Reuters via KSL
Purchase approvalRequired by default for each purchaseAnnouncedWalmart
Spending limitSet by the customer, examples $50, $100, $200Announced; per order, day or month not specifiedppc.land
Card dataNot given to agents; no change of payment methodAnnouncedWalmart
Returns and blockingUsual returns apply; non-compliant agents blockedAnnounced; terms not read by usWalmart
Beta participantsNot namedNot publishedppc.land, actuia
Prices, countries, general availabilityNot announcedNot publishedTechCrunch, ppc.land

Frequently asked questions

Can an AI agent see my card number?

No, according to Walmart. Agents do not receive card data and cannot add or change a payment method.

Can you use the Gateway today?

Only by invitation. It is an early beta, and businesses and developers can request access through walmart.com/agents. Walmart says it can suspend the beta at any time.

Do I need Walmart+ to let an agent shop for me?

No. According to TechCrunch and Reuters, any Walmart account holder is eligible, with no Walmart+ membership required. This concerns customers, not agent developers.

What can a customer check before using an agent?

Based on Walmart's release: keep the default of approval for each purchase, look at the spending limit chosen, read the agent provider's terms and privacy policy, and review the purchases in the agent's profile once Agent Profiles are available.

Method and limits

This article relies on Walmart's press release of October 21, 2026, TechCrunch, Reuters via KSL, ppc.land and actuia, read on October 31, 2026. We read Walmart's release only through an automatic summarization tool, not directly. The walmart.com/agents page could not be read because of anti-bot protection, so its content comes from press reports. We did not read the Agentic Access Terms. The Gateway's capabilities beyond "search and buy" are not detailed in what we read. We give no sales, user or traffic figures, because none were published in these sources. This is not purchasing advice, and the situation may have changed since.

Sources

Spotted an error in this article? Report it · Our corrections policy

Rekha icon: a house drawn in a single stroke

From the same author Self-promotion

An Eulerian path, drawn with your finger

Rekha, the iPhone game by OrigoTech's author: connect every dot in a single stroke without tracing the same link twice, across 500 drawings that are all solvable.

The OrigoTech newsletter

A sourced weekly digest of AI tool news.

Read next