Analysis

Revolut makes self-hosted GLM its default for AI coding and says costs fell about 90%, with Claude Code and Codex now the exception, per a talk reported by The Register

Revolut says self-hosted GLM is now its default for AI coding, with Claude Code and Codex the exception, and that costs fell about 90%. Unverified.

By ·

On November 3, 2026, The Register (Tobias Mann) reported a talk by David Abitbol, Revolut's head of operations and infrastructure, at the AI Engineer conference in New York in October 2026. According to the report, Revolut has made self-hosted models its default for AI-assisted coding, rather than commercial services such as Claude. The figures are Revolut's own and not independently verified. We read the sources only through automatic summaries. This is neither investment nor legal advice.

The essentials

What Revolut says it changed

According to The Register, Revolut tested Gemini in early 2025 and Claude Code in early 2026. The tools launched with strict spending caps, because some engineers were spending between $1,000 and $10,000 a month (Abitbol, via The Register). Revolut then moved to GLM from Z.ai, first GLM-5.1, then GLM-5.3. Emergent mentions only GLM-5.3, and a summary citing unread StartupHub mentions GLM 4.5, so we do not tie the cost to a version. For where open-weight models stand, including GLM-5.3, see our October overview.

For GLM-5.3, The Register reports 56 Nvidia B200 GPUs (seven DGX B200 systems), about 754 billion parameters (about 40 billion active per token) and about 380 GB of GPU memory for the weights. Gains came from tuning, NVFP4 quantization and prefill/decode separation, not extra GPUs.

Revolut's AI coding setup, before and after. As described by David Abitbol and reported by The Register. Company statements, not verified. Before: commercial tools under spending caps: Gemini tested in early 2025, Claude Code in early 2026; Strict spending caps, because some engineers spent $1,000 to $10,000 a month; After: self-hosted GLM as the default: About 2,000 engineers; 56 Nvidia B200 GPUs; $0.30 per million tokens, input and output (Revolut's figure); Routing, and the exception: A router sends requests with images to other models, such as Gemini; Claude Code and Codex stay available as the exception, not removed. The GLM version differs by source. All figures are declared by Revolut. We tested nothing. Source: The Register.

Source: The Register.

How much, and compared with what?

The Register reports that self-hosting GLM costs $0.30 per million tokens (input and output), about a tenth of Codex or Claude Code, with flat billing. It does not say whether hardware amortization is counted. A summary citing StartupHub (unread) says the $0.30 excludes cloud, staff and observability, so the total saving could be smaller. Emergent notes the comparison basis is not detailed.

Revolut self-reports a first token in under 3 seconds at about 256,000 tokens of context. It also reports +60% on coding time and +70% on delivery time; Abitbol says the gains come mostly from debugging and handling Jira and Confluence tickets, not code generation. Emergent notes the measurement methods are not explained.

Not a total replacement

The Register says GLM does not fully replace GPT or Claude. It is limited to text and poorly suited to interface work, so a router sends requests with images to models such as Gemini, while code generation stays on GLM. Abitbol calls the frontier models "the exception". They are not removed, and what that means in practice, such as Claude Code's share of usage, is not stated.

The reservations

Abitbol acknowledges privacy and security concerns about Chinese open models. In his view the main risk is access through APIs hosted in China, and on-premises or regional cloud deployment reduces it (The Register). We add no assessment of our own.

What Revolut claims, what diverges, what is not established. Figures come from a talk reported by The Register. They are not independently verified. Declared by Revolut: Inference costs for AI coding down about 90% in under a year; +60% on coding time, +70% on delivery time; First token in under 3 seconds at about 256,000 tokens of context; Diverging between sources: GLM version: 5.1 then 5.3 (The Register), 5.3 only (Emergent), 4.5 (a summary citing StartupHub, unread); Hardware and staff in the cost: not specified by The Register; a summary citing StartupHub (unread) says they are excluded; Not established: Any independent verification of the figures; The comparison basis of the 90%; Quality against Claude Code; What the exception means in practice, such as Claude Code's share of usage. Measurement methods are not explained (Emergent). We tested nothing. Source: The Register, Emergent.

Source: The Register, Emergent.

What is not established

The verified figure and its basis; whether hardware, staff and observability are in the cost; the exact GLM version; quality against Claude Code, with no independent test; how the +60% and +70% were measured; Anthropic's reaction; whether others will follow.

Comparison table

Comparison table
PointWhat the sources sayStatus
Default for AI codingSelf-hosted GLM; Claude Code and Codex the exceptionDeclared by Revolut
Inference costAbout 90% lower in under a yearDeclared by Revolut
GLM price$0.30 per million tokens, hardware unspecifiedReported by The Register
Productivity+60% coding time, +70% delivery timeDeclared by Revolut
GLM version5.1 then 5.3, 5.3 only, or 4.5, by sourceDiverging
Independent checkNone readNot established

Frequently asked questions

Did Revolut stop using Claude Code?

Not according to The Register: they stay available as the exception.

Are the 90% verified?

No. It is Revolut's claim from a talk, with no detailed comparison basis.

What hardware does it take?

Revolut reports 56 Nvidia B200 GPUs for GLM-5.3.

Method and limits

We read The Register by automatic summary on November 4, 2026, plus two second-hand pieces. We did not read the talk, any Revolut release, Cybernews or StartupHub, and saw no comment from Anthropic, OpenAI or Z.ai. Nothing was tested.

Sources

Spotted an error in this article? Report it · Our corrections policy

Rekha icon: a house drawn in a single stroke

From the same author Self-promotion

An Eulerian path, drawn with your finger

Rekha, the iPhone game by OrigoTech's author: connect every dot in a single stroke without tracing the same link twice, across 500 drawings that are all solvable.

The OrigoTech newsletter

A sourced weekly digest of AI tool news.

Read next